Roché Security

LPCB Certification Explained

LPS 1175, a part of LPCB’s Loss Prevention Standards, has gained global recognition in the fire and security sectors. It specifically addresses the physical security of building components against intrusion. Among LPCB’s 75 standards covering various security and fire resistance aspects, LPS 1175 focuses on testing and categorising intruder-resistant building components, strong points, security enclosures, and free-standing barriers.

This standard outlines requirements for testing and categorising products such as access covers, bar sets, cabinets, enclosures, cladding, gates, shutters, sliding doors, walls, and windows. Products seeking certification against LPS 1175 must undergo testing that includes assessing the security resistance of any hardware incorporated into the finished product, such as locking systems, hinges, and padlocks.

It’s important to note that the standard does not certify individual components but rather evaluates the entire product as a whole. Any components fitted to the product need to be tested against relevant LPS standards separately.

Additionally, the installation method, including the strength and resistance of fixings used, is assessed during testing. The product must be installed into a suitable substrate with adequate resistance to attack, consistent with the product’s specifications.

How does the LPS testing process work

The LPS 1175 testing process begins with the submission of a product to LPCB for evaluation. The submitting party determines the desired security rating classification that the product needs to meet. This classification consists of a letter and a number: the letter corresponds to the threat level associated with the toolkit used during testing, while the number represents the delay time in minutes.

For example, if a product is tested using toolkit D for a duration of 10 minutes and successfully passes the test regime, it would be classified as D10.

This classification system allows for clear identification and communication of the level of security provided by the tested product, aiding consumers and stakeholders in making informed decisions about the suitability of the product for their specific security needs.

LPS1175 Issue 8

LPS 1175 Issue 8 introduced significant changes, offering more flexibility to testing parties in determining the duration a product can delay an attacker.

Unlike previous issues, which categorized products under specific SR (Security Rating) classifications, Issue 8 presents a broader spectrum of security classifications ranging from A1 to H20.

Here’s a breakdown of the new security classifications compared to the old SR classifications:

  • A1 corresponds to SR1
  • B3 corresponds to SR2
  • C5 corresponds to SR3
  • D10 corresponds to SR4
  • E10 corresponds to SR5
  • F10 corresponds to SR6
  • G10 corresponds to SR7
  • H20 corresponds to SR8

This revised classification system empowers security specifiers and customers with a wider array of options, decoupling the toolkit and delay time requirements. This means they can now independently select the toolkit and delay time according to their specific needs.

Moreover, the new ratings facilitate the implementation of layered security strategies, enabling the use of different products to achieve the desired delay for an asset. For instance, combining products with ratings of C3, C3, and C5 can provide a cumulative delay time of 11 minutes with category C tools. Previously, each layer would have needed to achieve a 5-minute delay time to be officially certified by LPCB.

Furthermore, Issue 8 introduces the concept of an additional attacker for testing scenarios involving category F, G, or H tools. This update mirrors real-life attack scenarios where the likelihood of multiple attackers employing such tools is high.


Worldwide standards

LPS 1175 has been utilised worldwide, with its presence extending to numerous countries across the globe. While standards are typically not adopted at a national level unless published by national standards bodies or as international standards such as those by ISO, independent standards like LPS 1175 are often adopted by specific stakeholders.

The decision to choose LPS 1175 over other security standards hinges on its appropriateness in mitigating the specific threats faced. LPS 1175 addresses forced entry threats by individuals seeking unauthorized access without generating noise during their attempt. It specifically focuses on hostile actors using tools rather than vehicles, explosives, or firearms.

Furthermore, LPS 1175 does not specifically assess products’ resistance to mob attacks, such as riot situations witnessed in some regions. While these products may delay entry better than those meeting other standards like PAS 24, they are not evaluated for resistance against the greater loads exerted by large groups of individuals during mob attacks.

In addition to physical delay measures, stakeholders should invest in early detection systems to detect attempts as soon as possible, ideally at the perimeter fence line. Traditional detectors like PIR detectors may trigger only after an intruder has breached a window, offering minimal delay. Therefore, early detection systems are crucial in extending the response time available to apprehend intruders effectively.



The infographic produced by BRE summarizes the comprehensive range of security ratings available within Issue 8 of LPS 1175.

Achieving successful security entails more than just implementing delay, detection, and response measures; it also involves creating an impression for hostile actors that the risks and investment required outweigh the perceived value of the return. This deterrence factor is crucial in preventing security breaches.

LPS 1175 offers a security rating system that evaluates the effectiveness of physical delay measures, including perimeter barriers (such as fences, gates, and turnstiles), façade elements (such as doors, windows, walling, and roofing systems), as well as secondary and tertiary measures (such as shutters, grilles, cabinets, and other enclosures).

The certification issued under LPS 1175 provides robust assurances regarding the capability of these barriers to deter, delay, and deny unauthorized access, while other components within the security strategy contribute by detecting and responding to threats effectively.

What’s available?

We offer a wide range of LPCB rated shutters from A1 up to E10.

Our latest product the E130 Elite E10 (SR5) is suitable for government buildings, national infrastructure and military bases amongst other things.

The full range of LPCB approved security shutters can be found here.

Alternatively for a discussion with our technical support team call us on 0800 060 8842 or email